As a way to recognize outstanding teachers and students within LCPS, the LCPS Foundation will host its Annual Celebration of Excellence Dinner Monday, April 24 at the NM Farm and Ranch Heritage Museum, 4100 Dripping Springs Road, beginning at 6:00 p.m. Honorees will include the 2017 LCPS Teacher of the Year Finalists, National Merit Scholars, National Board Certified Teachers, National Hispanic Scholars and the Sandra K. Nakamura Professional Development Excellence Award recipients.

Tickets to the dinner are $20 each and can be purchased by contacting Lupita Barrio at 527-6054 or  Sponsorship opportunities and further information on the LCPS Foundation are both available at .

“The Las Cruces Public Schools Foundation exists to support caring educators that help our children,” said LCPS Foundation Executive Director Betsy Geery. “Each year the LCPS Foundation holds a public dinner to celebrate and honor LCPS teachers and students that have excelled above and beyond in their accomplishments. ”

Proceeds from the annual dinner fund teacher grants and student scholarships, awarded by the Foundation, based upon competitive submissions.  These funds allow the recipients to undertake learning opportunities not otherwise possible within current public funding.

The dinner is sponsored by: Title Sponsor Century Bank; Platinum Sponsor Mountain View Regional Medical Center; Gold Sponsors Dean George Mychaskiw, Burrell College of Osteopathic Medicine; Silver Sponsors The Gregg Martin Agency, Beasley Mitchell and Co., Michael and Jan Morehead, Joe Bullock, First American Bank, Raymond Greene, VFW Post 6917, Ben and Chris Woods; and Bronze Sponsors which include more than 20 local businesses and individuals.

Those being honored at the dinner include the following:

LCPS Teacher of the Year Finalists

  • Ashley Cartwright, East Picacho ES
  • Natalie Goodwin, Las Cruces HS
  • Rachel Knight, Centennial HS
  • Rosilyn Skibyak, Las Cruces HS
  • Terri Stockberger, Valley View ES

National Merit Scholars

  • Renata Starostka, Centennial HS
  • Elisa Davidson, Las Cruces HS
  • Irene Fernald, Las Cruces HS
  • Tharani Murali, Las Cruces HS

National Board Certified Teacher

  • Maggie Hornung, Valley View/Desert Hills ES

National Hispanic Scholar Finalists

  • Victoria Howard, Arrowhead Park ECHS
  • Elisa Davidson, Las Cruces HS
  • Adriana Sanchez, Las Cruces HS
  • Matthew Torres, Las Cruces HS
  • Ocran Holloway, Mayfield HS
  • Stephen Jeffries, Mayfield HS
  • Trevin Reyes, Mayfield HS
  • Bridget Andersen, Onate HS
  • Antonio Tabullo, Onate HS

Dr. Sandra K. Nakamura Professional Development Award Recipients

  • Bernadine Cotton, Tombaugh HS
  • Christina Parra, Sierra MS
  • Lisa Ehlers McCuller, Arrowhead Park ECHS

For more information, contact Betsy Geery, executive director LCPS Foundation at