LAS CRUCES – LCPS will hold its annual retirement recognition and scholarship awards banquet beginning at 6:00 p.m., Wednesday, May 7, 2014 at the Las Cruces Convention Center, University Ave., 680 E. University Ave.

The event is co-sponsored by NEA-Las Cruces and Classified School Employees Council-Las Cruces.

Tickets for family and friends are $24 each. The deadline for reservations is Thursday, May 1 – no tickets will be sold at the door. For reservations, call 575.527.5975 or 6614.

To date, 91 LCPS employees are scheduled to retire at the end of the 2013-14 school year. One teacher will retire with 41 years of service with LCPS. That’s the longest service of any LCPS employee retiring this year. Two other teachers/staff members are retiring with 40 years of service, one with 37 years of service and four with 35 years of service. Collectively, the 91 retirees have more than 1,800 years of service to LCPS.

NEA-LC and CSEC-LC will present scholarships to 25 students and staff at the banquet.

Banquet speakers/presenters will include LCPS Board of Education President Dr. Connie Phillips, Superintendent Stan Rounds, Associate Superintendent for Human Resource Development Dr. Elizabeth J. Marrufo, Director of Human Resources Eric Fraass, NEA-LC Scholarship Committee members Deb Romero and Sarah Cook-Guy, CSEC-LC President Irma Valdespino and NEA-LC President Patrick Sanchez.