LAS CRUCES  – The LCPS Board of Education will hold regular meetings at 6:30 p.m. on the third Tuesday of each month except in July (no meeting) and November (because of the Thanksgiving holiday, the meeting will be on the second Tuesday of the month) throughout the 2013-14 school year.

The school board also will hold work sessions beginning at 4:00 p.m. on the first Tuesday of each month during the school year in September, October and December 2013; and February-June 2014; no work session will be held in August 2013 or January 2014.

All meetings are open to the public except those that are adjudicatory in nature or pertain to personnel matters. An agenda for each meeting and work session can be obtained from the superintendent’s office 24 hours in advance of the meeting. Agendas and board meeting information are also on the LCPS website: Click on “School Board” in the top yellow box on the upper left-hand side of the home page and then click on “Meetings, Agendas and Minutes.” Click on the agenda, packet or minutes for the appropriate meeting date.

All meetings will be held in the board room of the LCPS Administration Building, 505 S. Main St., LorettoTowne Centre, Suite 249.

LCPS 2013-14 regular board meeting schedule (all meetings are held on Tuesdays and begin at 6:30 p.m.):


• August 20

• September 17

• October 15

• November 19

• December 10


• January 21

• February 18

• March 18

• April 15

• May 27

• June 17

LCPS 2013-14 work session schedule (all meetings are held on Tuesdays and begin at 4:00 p.m. There are no work sessions in August 2013 or January 2014):


• September 3

• October 1

• November 5

• December 3


• February 4

• March 4

• April 1

• May 6

• June 3

The school board is comprised of Dr. Connie Phillips, president; Maria A. Flores, vice president; Chuck Davis, secretary; and Dr. Bonnie Votaw and Barbara Hall, members.

Board members are elected to four-year terms and are elected by district. Davis (District 1) was first elected in 2001 and was re-elected in 2005, 2009 and 2013. Phillips (District 5) and Votaw (District 4) were first elected in 2007 and were re-elected in 2011. Flores (District 3) was first elected in 2009 and was re-elected in 2013. Hall was appointed by the school board on March 16, 2011 to complete an unexpired term in District 2. She was re-elected in 2013.

Visit the school board’s web page at It contains contact information for each board member, along with district boundaries and other information.

For more information, contact LCPS Chief of Staff Leslie Cervantes at 575.527.5946 or